Hangman (JamSoft)

Cost as reviewed: FREE

This is hangman. That’s about it. It isn’t all that sophisticated, but it does provide at least a little entertainment if you’re looking for something rather mindless to do. Most of the words I’ve had to spell have been pretty simple and some people I’ve talked to about the game have said that they get repeat questions pretty frequently. According to the developer, there are 230 words in the game, which isn’t that bad. Maybe there is a problem with the word selector or something.

This app is free, so you can’t complain too much about it. If you want a free app that will let you play hangman once in a while, this isn’t a bad choice. However, I would like to see some more difficult words and a nice feature would be the ability to have a 2-player game where one person sets the word and someone else guesses letters. I guess if you were going to do that, you could just use paper. Then again, who carries paper around when they have an iPhone??

Hangman Website

2 Responses to “Hangman (JamSoft)”

  1. Thanks for the review! It’s great to see all the attention that Hangman is getting. I really wasn’t expecting this much of a response when I submitted it.
    I think the problem with the word list is that there’s no real structure, it’s just a collection of random words I threw together in order to have something to work with while developing.
    The world list is going through a stage of refinement at the moment and will be better in the next release.
    The other good news is that two player mode is on it’s way as well as scoring and hints.
    I hope you can review it once the update is released.

  2. andrewjoslyn Says:

    Yay! 2-player will be nice to see and I look forward to seeing an expanded word list. I probably should have mentioned in my review that I thought it was pretty cool when I got the word “guineafowl.” It seems like you guys have a sense of humor, which is nice when it comes through in a game.

Leave a comment