Seismometer (Johan Nordberg)

Cost as reviewed: FREE

This app does one thing – it measures vibration using the iphone’s accelerometer and displays the results as one of those nifty seismograms. I’m sure you’ve seen them before in movies when an earthquake occurs. You can see the screen shots below to get an idea.

I’m not quite sure how truly useful this app is since it doesn’t look like you can save the results or anything, but it sure is fun to play with. I doubt anyone will actually use this during an earthquake because I don’t think your first response would be “Oh cool, let me pull out my iphone and use that seismometer app” (at least I HOPE that’s not your first thought). Still, it could be fun for measuring vibrations during a thunderstorm maybe. Or if you live near the traintracks. Or maybe during the aftershocks of a minor earthquake if it isn’t serious.

Although I won’t be using this app very often, I still think it’s pretty cool and I recommend testing it out.

Developer’s Website

One Response to “Seismometer (Johan Nordberg)”

  1. A better quake app with push notification and seismograph is Quake warn

    iTunes Link

    http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=320655564&mt=8

Leave a comment